Skip to main content

De La Salle Medal

 Record Group
Identifier: MC-De La Salle Medal


  • Other: 1952-present

Biographical / Historical

The St. De La Salle Medal was established in 1951 in honor of St. John Baptist De La Salle, Founder of the Brothers of the Christian Schools and patron saint of teachers. The medal was awarded annually by Manhattan College for outstanding contributions to the advancement of Catholic education. The first recipient of the De La Salle Medal was John F. Brosnan during the Convocation on April 30, 1951 commemorating the Tercentenary of the Birth of St. John Baptist de la Salle. In 1973 the requirements for the Medal were changed with the omission of the word “Catholic”. The Saint De La Salle Medal was to be conferred annually upon one who had made significant contributions to the moral, cultural or educational life of the Nation, and whose achievements and exemplary life call for a fitting tribute from Manhattan College and the Christian Brothers. The Medals were given out at either Commencement or Convocation. In 1977, the De La Salle Medal Dinner was established to recognize the achievements of an outstanding American business executive through the presentation of MC’s most prestigious award. Individuals selected to receive the Medal were chosen for their support of education, cultural institutions and other philanthropic endeavors as well as contributions and excellence in their chosen field. The medals were given out at this special dinner held during the winter at a restaurant in Manhattan.

Previous Recipients

1951 The Honorable John F. Brosnan (Alumnus ’11) Chancellor of the Board of Regents, University of the State of NY

1952 His Eminence Francis Cardinal Spellman Archbishop of New York

1953 Most Reverend Joseph P. Donahue (Alumnus ’90) Auxiliary Bishop of New York

1954 & 1955 None

1956 Most Reverend Edwin V. O’Hara (Awarded posthumously) Bishop of Kansas City

1957 Sister Mary Emil, I.H.M. Exec. Secretary, the Sister Formation Conference

1958 Right Reverend Monsignor Joseph E. Schieder Director of Youth Dept., National Catholic Welfare Conference

1959 Very Reverend Brother Bertrand, O.S.F. Superior General, Franciscan Brothers of the Diocese of Brooklyn

1960 Doctor Roy Joseph Deferrari Secretary General, The Catholic University of America

1961 Reverend John Courtney Murray, S.J. Professor of Theology, Woodstock College

1962 Brother Clair Stanislaus, F.S.C. Historian & Biographer, St. Joseph’s College, London, England

1963 Most Reverend Bryan J. McEntegart (Alumnus ’13) Bishop of Brooklyn

1964 Sister M. Rose Eileen, C.S.C. Professor of Theology, Dunbarton College of Holy Cross, Washington, DC

1965 Mother Kathryn Sullivan, R.S.C.J. Manhattanville College of the Sacred Heart

1966 Brother Bernard Peter, F.S.C. Auxiliary Visitor, New York Provincialate

1967 Dean William H. Mulligan Fordham University Law School

1968 Rev. C. Albert Koob, O. Praem Executive Secretary N.C.E.A.

1969 None

1970 Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C. President of the University of Notre Dame

1971 Most Rev. Edwin B. Broderick, D.D. Bishop of Albany

1972 Very Rev. Brother Charles Henry Buttimer, F.S.C. Superior General, Brothers of the Christian Schools


6 Linear Feet

Repository Details

Part of the Manhattan College Archives Repository

O'Malley Library, Room 200
4513 Manhattan College Parkway
O'Malley Library, Room 200
Riverdale New York 10471 United States