Archives

Allegany County / A Pictorial History Edit

Summary

Component Unique Identifier
BAL LRC 21 Gold 654 a&b
Level of Description
Item
Language
English

Dates

  • 1980 (Publication)

Extents

  • 2 Volumes (Whole)

Agent Links

Subjects

Notes

  • Materials Specific Details

    Hardcover, 172 pages, illustrated with photographs. Copy 1: Added before title page: dedication to the citizens of Allegany County by the First Federal Savings & Loan Association of Cumberland. Copy 2: Autographed by all three authors inside the front cover. The bookplate is illustrated with a drawing of the eleven-mile marker, courtesy of Greater Cumberland Chamber of Commerce. Contains in clear sleeves two different errata sheets.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Copy 1: Unknown. Copy 2: Acquired by Brother Joseph Grabenstein as a gift from his parents in 1982; donated by him to Archives in 2015.

  • Biographical / Historical

    Bishop James E. Walsh, page 19. Future site of Carroll Hall [La Salle High School, 1907-1966], page 32. St. Mary’s Catholic Church is renamed St. Patrick’s Catholic Church, page 113.

  • Biographical / Historical

    On page 142 is a photo featuring a 1933 graduate of La Salle Institute, Leo H. Ley, Jr. M.D. who was an affiliated member (AFSC) of the Christian Brothers. On the same page is an inscription by D. Ley to his nephew, Brother Joseph Grabenstein.

Instances

  • Type
    Books
    Container 1 Type
    Box
    Container 1 Indicator
    21

Components