Archives

Saint John’s School for Indian Boys / Hominy Creek, Gray Horse P.O., Oklahoma 1907-1913 Edit

Summary

Component Unique Identifier
BAL LRC 38 Gold 1302
Level of Description
Item
Language
English

Dates

  • 1974 (Publication)
  • 7 May 2018 (Record Keeping)

Extents

  • 1 Volumes (Whole)

Agent Links

Subjects

Notes

  • Materials Specific Details

    Softcover, 77 pages, appendices, map, cover photographs on both front & back. Photos appear on front and back covers, but back photos are not captioned.

  • Immediate Source of Acquisition

    Donated to Archives by Bro. Emmet Sinitiere, FSC (Archivist, Legacy New Orleans-Santa Fe District), May 2018.

  • Biographical / Historical

    This book contains information about a little known ministry of the Christian Brothers among Native Americans, particularly the Osage tribe in Oklahoma. The school was co-founded by St. Katherine Drexel in 1888 and was conducted initially by the Sisters of St. Francis (Glen Riddle, PA). The pioneer Christian Brothers of the St. Louis District assigned there were Brothers Lawrence James, Aubertine of Jesus, Arcadius Joseph, Immanuel, & Herbert Philip. There is a map on page 8. Appendix 4 has a prospectus of the school. A reminiscence based upon a personal visit to the location in 1967 is in appendix 5. A roster of all Brothers who served there is in appendix 6.

Instances

  • Type
    Books
    Container 1 Type
    Box
    Container 1 Indicator
    38 Gold

Components